Tags

, , , , ,

I have never taken drugs.

I’ve never needed to, ask anyone who knows me.  Besides having the discipline of an olympic athlete in the sport of sleeping, my sleep has provided me with a blank canvas  for my dreams to inspire, reveal, intuit and sometimes, even scare me.

My first day of design school, nearly 20 years ago, we didn’t get a project or walk around sketching buildings…we watched movies.  I remember being lead down to the lecture hall by our two professors with about 80 other students on our first day to watch Delicatessen (I can still recall the crazy rhythmic sequence of cooking).  The next day A Clockwork Orange (the bizarre and brightly colored scenes), then Bladerunner (the metallic, futuristic story), then Rashomom, and ending with Rear Window.   For a long time, there has been a connection between movies and architecture.  For me, the connection has been a directors ability to communicate the nuances of space and time through a moving picture.  If nothing else, it has been fodder for my already bizarre dreams.

The Cell (2000), directed by Tarsem Singh in 2000, overloaded my brain with so many beautifully grotesque images it remains one of my favorite movies to date in the category of fantasy horror.

Pan’s Labyrinth (2006), directed by Guillermo del Toro, is another movie that continues to inspire and freak me out at the same time.

Maybe it is the way some movies tap into our subconscious and makes visible and audible the things we can barely begin to verbalize.  What ever intrigue, I am grateful I was introduced to the weirdness nearly 20 yeas ago!

