Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

A Holistic Transendence by dawn trimble studio

It has been a while since my last blog post, I know.  However, some exciting things have been happening…let me share them with you!

Towards the end of April, the Georgia Chapter of ASID (American Society of Interior Designers) sent an e-mail to all members to announce a juried competition to design a five-star luxury three-bedroom model home (for a client) at the Residences at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta.

All interested designers were asked to submit their story board concepts online with the interior design for five spaces of the three-bedroom model home: The Master Suite (including the Bedroom + Bath), the Living Room, Dining Room and Kitchen.  The concept/story boards were to include the color palette, primary furniture pieces, primary room accessories (including artwork), lighting and fabrics for each space.

I was quite excited about this opportunity and decided to enter!

Fast forward one month:

I am not sure how many designers entered, but on May 31st I found out from the competition jury (made up of design professionals, experts and owners of The Residences) that I was 1 of 10 designers asked to present my design in person to the jury at The Residences on June 5th.  With both honor and nervousness, I presented my project in front of the jury.  From the 10 designers that presented on June 5th, the jury narrowed 10 designers down to 3 Finalists.

Well…I learned yesterday that I am one of the three finalists!!

What happens now, you might ask…

Here’s what happens:  the top 3 finalists storyboards/concept project for the residence will be featured online at Atlanta Homes & Lifestyles magazine for voting by YOU, the public, from Friday, June 7th – Friday, June 14th.  The designer that receives the most votes wins!  They then sign and receive a paid contract to actually design the new three-bedroom model home according to their proposal and will be featured in Atlanta Homes & Lifestyles Magazine in a Fall issue.

Needless to say, I am thrilled, honored and humbly asking for your help (vote).

The image above is from my concept board.  You can view the entire submission (called A Holistic Transendence by Dawn Trimble Studio) and cast your vote as many times as you like at:

http://www.atlantahomesmag.com/model-classics

I sincerely thank you in advance for supporting me in this exciting design opportunity!!

