Tags

, , , , ,

image

“There must be a few things that a hot bath won’t cure, but I don’t know many of them…” – Sylvia Plath

.

A quiet space has always been the quintessential place for contemplating.  Allowing ones thoughts to flow is the beautiful thing about having specific quiet spaces reserved for the mind and the soul.

For me, the space of the bath (or shower) is the perfect place to cleanse the body and renew the mind.  I believe it is the combination of the sound, pressure and feel of warm water, the aroma of soaps, shampoos and oils used, the intimate and tactile space of the shower and the very act of washing that inevitably calms and soothes the mind.  As a mother of two young children, I love my time in the shower!  It is quite possibly the only place where Thomas the Train toys, Curious George books and sippy cups are not.

While I have no doubt that a beautifully constructed bathroom is a space that I will inhabit in the future, my love for the space of the bath doesn’t keep me from collecting beautiful and poetic examples.  Below are a few favorite moments in the act of bathing…

.

the sensual qualities of texture, space and light

the sensual qualities of texture, space and light.  A beautiful place to think…yes?

.

image

The strong statement of a manmade cantilever vs. nature. A dynamic bath, indeed…

.

a decorated bath with the necessities...

a decorated bath with the necessities…

.

image

Warm soft stone and natural light soften this modern & minimal shower

.

basic idea elevated by space and texture...

basic idea elevated by space and texture…

.

simple ideas worked out with elegant materials and detailing

simple ideas worked out with elegant materials and detailing

.

basic bath forms elevate the mind and soul

basic bath forms elevate the mind and soul

What are some of your favorite ‘thinking’ spaces?  Let me know…

